PDA

View Full Version : AR Black Lightning Kit-Feedback


CD.
09-23-2008, 12:28 PM
Looking to see if any members have used this kit and rough price range of kit? Here is a link to the product

http://www.aresdefense.com/product.html

scubamark13
09-23-2008, 1:26 PM
I haven't but it sure looks cool!

Gunaria
09-23-2008, 1:35 PM
This one?

http://www.aresdefense.com/images/Shrike556-CQB-LMG-003.JPG

AdamM
09-23-2008, 1:42 PM
wonder what that thing weighs

zeus45c
09-23-2008, 1:59 PM
I think he was referring to the Gas-Piston Retrofit. That picture of the belted AR caught my attention right away also.

Guns R Tools
09-23-2008, 2:16 PM
Looks like they sold the right to Bushmaster. There is clickable link in Ares Defnese page.

http://www.bushmaster.com/products.asp?cat=6#GP-GSR

$399.95

BP88
09-23-2008, 2:32 PM
This one?

http://www.aresdefense.com/images/Shrike556-CQB-LMG-003.JPG

Do want!!

apbrian112
09-23-2008, 3:13 PM
that's the Shrike belt-fed upper which was developed and they actually manufactured/shipped several but many customers who had placed deposits never saw them... pretty much vaporware with the exception that they actually did ship several out to customers.

aplinker
09-23-2008, 7:26 PM
you would need to go featureless

ar15barrels
09-24-2008, 12:09 AM
This one?

http://www.aresdefense.com/images/Shrike556-CQB-LMG-003.JPG

You are pure evil...

trinydex
09-24-2008, 12:14 AM
is there a such thing as a preban belt? it'd be interesting to have a high cap belt in your collection hahaha.

ar15barrels
09-24-2008, 12:18 AM
is there a such thing as a preban belt?

Yes, one you owned before 2000. ;)

The key to KEEPING them preban is to never let them run down past 11 rounds.
So, load it up to 100 rounds and shoot it down to 11 rounds all you want.
Never EVER shoot it past 11 rounds.

JeffM
09-24-2008, 12:31 AM
that's the Shrike belt-fed upper which was developed and they actually manufactured/shipped several but many customers who had placed deposits never saw them... pretty much vaporware with the exception that they actually did ship several out to customers.

How is it that a bunch of guys can make belt fed AKs in their garage, and have them work (in several different calibers I might add), but these guys can't get their act together to make an AR version with a ton of financial backing?

http://www.akfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33297

http://aycu13.webshots.com/image/41052/2001005231564195876_rs.jpg

ar15barrels
09-24-2008, 12:36 AM
How is it that a bunch of guys can make belt fed AKs in their garage, and have them work (in several different calibers I might add), but these guys can't get their act together to make an AR version with a ton of financial backing?

I think ares is probably more of a design company than a manufacturing company.
Neat ideas that they just can't get made...

And garage builders are fueled by willpower, not cash.
Companies are fueled by cash, not willpower.
Most projects fail somewhere in between those two extremes at some point in the development cycle.

trinydex
09-24-2008, 12:58 AM
oh gosh that's such a california requirement...

Yes, one you owned before 2000. ;)

The key to KEEPING them preban is to never let them run down past 11 rounds.
So, load it up to 100 rounds and shoot it down to 11 rounds all you want.
Never EVER shoot it past 11 rounds.

trinydex
09-24-2008, 12:59 AM
How is it that a bunch of guys can make belt fed AKs in their garage, and have them work (in several different calibers I might add), but these guys can't get their act together to make an AR version with a ton of financial backing?

http://www.akfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33297

http://aycu13.webshots.com/image/41052/2001005231564195876_rs.jpg

wait WHAT? ak shrike? oh man an ak i would actually want.

jesse3533
09-01-2010, 6:12 PM
check out this link. ak conversion kit to belt fed. awesome
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJ10pIda3jE

ar15barrels
09-01-2010, 6:29 PM
check out this link. ak conversion kit to belt fed. awesome
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJ10pIda3jE

You had to revive a 2 year old thread for that?
Have you ever seen the "new thread" button at the top of each subforum?

Roccobro
09-01-2010, 9:39 PM
Damn, I thought it might be a GOOD post to revive this sucker! Oh well...

Justin