PDA

View Full Version : Winchester Model 70 .270

Frijolito1988
09-23-2008, 7:49 AM
Heres a few questions guys , I have the opportunity to get a Winchester Model 70 in .270 , Im pretty new to rifles in general but can hold my own but when it comes AR's but when it comes to boltaction or precision im FTL lol. I was speaking to a very knowlagable person and stated that this specific model has a light barrel and that the .270 cartridge dosent have many options for match grade ammo. So heres my question, I wikied Model 70

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winchester_Model_70

and came out that it is a variation of the FN SPR and that law enformence gets model 70's and put heavy barrels on them and the mcmillan stock, I also read in the wiki page that all the calibers use the same actions ( Maybe i read it wrong ) so my newbeness belives ,IF i get it i will be putting some sort of heavy barrel / bull barrel , sooo if i get a .308 caliber barrel, and IF it uses the same actions for all the calibers ,what other modification would I need to do to the rifle to fire the .308, or do you guys recommend the .270 caliber to be a good caliber for 800+yards with a heavy barrel ?

Thanks for your imput

Timberwolf
09-23-2008, 8:03 AM
First of all not all actions are the same. In general terms you have the long action, ie 30-06, 270, 300 WM, etc and the short action ie 308, 7-08, 243 etc.

It is possible to put a S/A baliber barrel on a LA rifle as long as the bolt faces are the same which they would be in your example, however mod would need to be made to the mag box.

A 270 is a great hunting round with quite a few quality game bullets, but a not so good target rifle due to the lack of match bullets.

If you want to play the LR Precision game, and want to do it with a L/A rifle get either a 30-06 or a 300WM. Otherwise just get a .308.

Frijolito1988
09-23-2008, 8:11 AM