PDA

View Full Version : M1A bipod question


5thstreet@sbcglobal.net
09-19-2008, 1:00 AM
Just for those of you who love to say use the search button instead of answering the question I already did that and posted on a thread but got no response. I was wondering if i could use a harris bipod on my m1a loaded by using the existing sling mount or does it have to back to SA for them to install it?

69Mach1
09-19-2008, 1:32 AM
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=68865&highlight=m1a+bipod+mount

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=36060&highlight=m1a+bipod+mount

http://home.hawaii.rr.com/dighawaii/Bipod%20Page%20Amended%20Version.htm

HappyG
01-12-2009, 5:44 PM
If you send it to SA, do you need to send the ENTIRE rifle or just the stock sans parts?

USN CHIEF
01-12-2009, 6:16 PM
If you send it to SA, do you need to send the ENTIRE rifle or just the stock sans parts?

But putting a harris bipod to your M1A is really not that difficult.

MT1
01-12-2009, 6:55 PM
http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=290259

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=934186

WOLFPACK117
01-12-2009, 9:27 PM
Here's mine. If you like it! get the parts and I will install for you for $30.

http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/thumbs/DSCN0571_edited.jpg
http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/thumbs/DSCN0570_edited.jpg
http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/thumbs/DSCN0569_edited.jpg

recshooter
01-12-2009, 10:07 PM
I bought an adapter that attaches to the sling swivel through the stock (sorry forgot the name, either versapod or ARMS brand?), and then I was able to mount the Harris bipod easily.

And I should add that at the time I had literally no experience with firearms parts, and it went smoothly.

Save yourself some time and money by researching a bit and then doing it yourself.

RogueSniper
01-12-2009, 11:29 PM
I posted this awhile ago.

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=128108

pistolero805
01-13-2009, 5:18 AM
Here's mine. If you like it! get the parts and I will install for you for $30.

http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/thumbs/DSCN0571_edited.jpg
http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/thumbs/DSCN0570_edited.jpg
http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/thumbs/DSCN0569_edited.jpg

I installed one of these for a friend. It took me about 30 minutes and I was going slow. Seems sturdy and it looks good. All you have to do is remove the existing sling mount and bolt this on. Piece of cake.

masterbush
01-13-2009, 6:06 AM
I have a scout with the synthetic stock so I guess it made it easy by having the hole predrilled for the adapter, but none of these bi-pod installs are hard at all.