PDA

View Full Version : Newbie AR Questions (Sorry)

ocg 03
09-17-2008, 1:36 PM
This is my first build... so I apologize for the newbie questions that have been answered a thousand times already.

I just purchases a CMMG lower and DPMS lower parts kit and I plan on using a bullet button.

I know I want to stick around the 14.5" -16" length barrel range. I am not looking to build a specialized rifle first time, just something to get my feet wet in the AR world.

Quick questions for you AR owners...

What is the best AR upper less than $750?

Also, what would you suggest for a stock?

I am kind of confused because I was under the impression you can't have a collapsible stock, but every AR I have seen has one.

I have done TONS of searches, on this stuff... The information is kind of dated though and there are all sorts of new products on the market.

I am open to any suggestions you may have regarding by build. Thanks in advance for all the help!

MrSlippyFist
09-17-2008, 1:39 PM
I have a Model 1 upper and have had great luck with it, and there is a thread about them and some people have had issues. They are fairly inexpensive. I just picked up a DPMS upper from midway for $380. Haven't had a chance to shoot that one yet. You can definitely get a good quality upper for less than $750.

ChrisXD45T
09-17-2008, 1:46 PM
What is the best AR upper less than $750?
BCM or LMT.
Find the BCM's here:
http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/
http://global-tactical.com/
http://www.gandrtactical.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?display=home
⇒LMTs can be bought from some of the sponsors on this site.⇐
Also, what would you suggest for a stock?SOPMOD, Vltor, Magpul...Whatever you like and what fits your budget.

I am kind of confused because I was under the impression you can't have a collapsible stock, but every AR I have seen has one.I think what you mean is telescoping stock. But to answer your question: With a bullet button all things are possible.