PDA

View Full Version : 5.56 type rifle beginning questions.

RFB
09-17-2008, 1:13 AM
Hello all,

I am beginning the research of how to get the 5.56 EBR I want with the laws I am subject to.

I have read the wonderful guides here and have a few questions. I am new to these rifles so if anything sounds off please let me know.

1a.) The 10 round mag is fixed with either Bullet Button or Prince 50, because of this it is loaded without being removed by opening up the upper from the lower?

1 b.) Do the Prince 50 or bullet button permanently affect the lower or if I ever do move out of state or the laws change...a standard magazine release could be installed?

2.) The lower must be off list, but the upper could be Colt, Armalite, etc?

3.) IF yes above and If the laws change or I do move I could then buy the matching lower and attach it to my existing upper?

4)
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg82/RFB7575/OLL30.jpg

Once I am at this ^ stage I can add the stock and upper of my choice, BUT if the magazine is ever to be removed (say for cleaning?) I must return to this \/ stage:

http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg82/RFB7575/OLL29.jpg

with the handle off before removing magazine?

5) I really would prefer a more traditional M16/AR15 type rifle over the newer more popular M4 style. Like this one: http://www.armalite.com/images/large%20images%5CRifles%5CM15A2_RIFLE%20large.jpg From what I can see the only differences are collapsible stock versus solid and 16" barrel vs 20"? With Iron sights as I really want to get good with its basic form before (if ever) going to optics. Anything I am missing in this plan?

6) What is involved in registering this rifle compared to say a Marlin 336, what is the assault weapon paperwork? Anything I need to do to prepare?

Thank you all for your help, especially to the writers of the guides,

RFB

09-17-2008, 1:25 AM