PDA

View Full Version : What got you interested in firearms to begin with?

CHS
09-16-2008, 9:05 AM
So, as a male shooter, I'm always curious what drives women into the shooting sports. I've always tried to get the women that I know in my life interested, but it seems most just don't have fun.

Obviously we have a better breed of female here on this board! :)

So yeah, how did you first get interested?

How many of you got involved because of a parent or significant other? How many of you discovered guns on your own?

Do you enjoy shooting? Or is it more out of defense than anything else?

shellyzsweet
09-16-2008, 12:00 PM
you asked...so here we go!
I started shooting when I was little. My Grandfather used to be an LEO and U.S. Boarder Patrol and won a shooting tournament or two (can't remember how many) So of course, my dad got into guns. I can't ever remember a time that he took them out for me to see and hold but never shoot until right before my first few shots. I remember he bought a ruger 10/22 with a scope on it....started with that. I could hardly hold the gun and had to rest it on something. Soon after he got that for my sis and I the family went to Arizona to see my grandparents. My mom had a 4 inch S&W stainless steel .357 686. We got to my grandparents and I was sat down for the gun safety talk and taught how to aim. -I could hardley hold the gun and had to brace it on my knees. Well we did that for an hour or two and the next morning...out to the range (meaning the "boonies") I did a few rounds with the .22 and then got to try my moms 686. My arms were sore from holding the big heavy gun for 2 hours the night before, plus the .22 earlier...So I ended up on my toosh, knees up and bracing the gun. I should prolly mention that I wear glasses and have my whole life (had some pretty sweet osh kosh be-gosh ones at the time...they rocked!) So my grandpa loaded me up with a .38 wad cutter. My mom sat behind me and put her arms on top of mine to help hold the g