View Full Version : DIY GUIDE: Making your own Saiga Mags using Cheap Ak mags

09-15-2008, 3:00 PM
Ok, so Im not by any means a gunsmith, I have very little knowledge when it comes to gun smithing. The reason I made this was because I know there are other ways of converting the rifle, but I did not want to drill in a hole to bolt a feeding ramp, and i didn't want to weld the mags so I thought of something else!
So heres my story:
I bought a saiga 7.62x39 already converted with pistol grip and stock. It is 922r complain also for any FED friends watching. I wanted to find a way to make regular ak mags, which are pretty much a dime a dozen compared to saiga mags. So i bought some ak mags, metal ones, just because I thought it would be easier, and I took a look at them to see what the difference was here are some pics:
Saiga mag front lip
Close up of ak mag

As you can see the Ak mag as a gap missing in the front, where the saiga mag is molded straight across, when I inserted the ak mag into my rifle I noticed, the reason it wasn't feeding was because that front lip was absent, everything else was pretty much the same, And then this guide was born:

10-15 minutes for construction
Quick steel, metal epoxy ( I bought mine at walmart)
Rubbing alcohol
Sand Paper ( with a rough grit )
Metal AK mag
NOTE: I bought ak mag parts kits and made them only hold 10 rounds BEFORE inserting spring and follower, my mags are CA compliant as inside they have blocks PERMANENTLY prohibiting more than 10 rounds from being stored. If you do not own preban hicaps, dont make them, it is a felony, If you want to know how to make 10 rounders look it up, just make sure it is not a functioning mag until it is permanently fixed to 10 rounds.
Latex gloves

09-15-2008, 3:01 PM
Step One: Take your Ak mag body and sand the parts that you intend to fill with the metal epoxy, sand surrounding areas as well as pictured.