PDA

View Full Version : need a bit more help with the scopes

joemama
09-15-2008, 12:39 AM
ok so I've narrowed down what I want. I would prefer a 2-14x or similar x 50mm. but with an illuminated reticule. I really wanted to go with a leupold but I cant find anything in my price range. The most I can really afford without really really pissing off the wife is about 600 bucks. and thats pushing it. I was hoping to get a leupold but only because of its brand name i must say. I have no experience what so ever with scopes or scope brands, so if someone could help me out by listing say best to worst by brand that would help me a bit in my search. I did find some cheap scopes that have what I want but I'm afraid thats just what they are... cheap. I've already put 1300 bucks into my rifle and dont really want to skimp here but I kinda have to. I plan on range shooting and blowing up squirrels with this rifle. please help me find the perfect scope as i am having a bit of a hard time choosing one...

aplinker
09-15-2008, 12:44 AM
Why do you think you want an illuminated reticle? You'll be spending money on something that won't really help.

I think you must have typed something wrong, since 2-14X doesn't exist outside my dreams.

50mm isn't the way to go if you're buying cheaper glass - bigger lenses at low price mean a LOT lower quality.

I'd suggest the Nikon Buckmark 4.5-14X with mil-dots. Save the rest and upgrade down the road.

You could also go with the Millet TRS-1.

joemama
09-15-2008, 1:01 AM