PDA

View Full Version : need some scope suggestion on ss

basing110
09-13-2008, 9:25 PM
well i got my larue mount orderd up and have a micro red dot and mount on its way so im now trying to decide what scope to run on my 24" 6.5 grendel im gonna be shooting anywhere from 300 to 1000 yrds and im having troubles deciding on getting the 10x or 16x super sniper got the micro dot for anything up to 300 now just need teh part up to 1000 so should i get the 10x or 16x and why that one?

ar15barrels
09-14-2008, 12:02 AM
Always err on the side of low power.
Shooting to 1000 is not a problem with a 10X scope, but shooting 200 with a 16x can be a problem.

Where do you plan to shoot to 1000 anyways?

basing110
09-14-2008, 10:49 AM
i have a buddy with a ton of land somwhere in the desert.. they go shoot 50's their and other large bores and he said he will take me out their when i get this thing built and help me work up to shootin 1000 yrds without a ton of luck since im kinda new to long distance .

ar15barrels
09-14-2008, 11:06 AM
i have a buddy with a ton of land somwhere in the desert.. they go shoot 50's their and other large bores and he said he will take me out their when i get this thing built and help me work up to shootin 1000 yrds without a ton of luck since im kinda new to long distance .

Hitting at 1000 is more about wind reading and judging actual distance than anything else.

X-NewYawker
09-14-2008, 11:13 AM
Leupold 30mm tubed 6.5-20x Mark IV version

CSACANNONEER
09-14-2008, 11:20 AM
If you want to shoot 1000 yards, I suggest the 20X. With the 20X, you will be able to see some mirage much of the time and, unlike what some people will claim, I think that seeing mirage is a good thing. If you can't see it, you can't learn to read it and, if you learn to read mirage, you'll be able to know more about what the wind is really doing.

However, if you are planning to do most of your shooting at <300 yards, I'd agree with Randall and sugget getting a 10X.

ar15barrels