PDA

View Full Version : converting ak74 (interarms) to CA complaint one

Cali80
09-09-2008, 1:57 PM
Would it be legal in CA?
Can you glue the folding wire stock with red lock tight(permanent glue) to make it into a fixed position stock? Would that work?

I would think doing the gluing and then having a 10 rd BB would make it OK for CA, correcdt??

I am new to CA Laws so please bear with me guys.

http://www.atlanticfirearms.com/beta/storeproduct631.aspx
here's a picture of the rifle in question.

bohoki
09-09-2008, 2:37 PM
with a fixed mag you can have a folding stock

AaronHorrocks
09-09-2008, 2:43 PM
Go for a 10 round fixed mag. That way you can keep the pistol grip and folding stock. with that stock, You won't be able to get away with a MonsterManGrip.

bigthaiboy
09-09-2008, 2:52 PM
With a bullet button, you can have the stock folding as long as the rifle with folded stock comes to a OAL of 30" (CA overall length limit for centerfire rifles).

My guess is it will come to around 27.5", so you need to extend the length of the rifle. Adding a longer muzzle brake would be enough, eg, adding a 4.5" flash hider like this one: http://ak47brakes.ricksmuzzlebrakesandgunstuff.com/index.htm

or one of the Tapco AMD-65 muzzle brakes, would be an easy fix.

If you don't need it to fold, then either red or blue loctite will do.

Cali80
09-09-2008, 3:02 PM
thanks for your inputs. I figured it was ok, but had to double check.

Cali80
09-09-2008, 3:43 PM
I guess if I do go thru with this project, I will keep the stock and maybe locktite the wire stock to comply with the oal of 30 inches.
Thanks again guys.

AaronHorrocks
09-09-2008, 4:13 PM
Your ideas of glue and locktite are risky, and frankly dangerous. There have been cases of LEOs trying to use rocks or hammers on a mag release to "make safe" the weapon. You have to consider any mods you make are going to be rough handled.