PDA

View Full Version : mini 14 muzzle break from johnmasen

gungrave
09-06-2008, 5:54 PM
hi guys my father in law just bought a muzzle break from johnmasen.com and we are not sure if this is legal in calfornia to add on his mini 14...we are not sure if we should install this or not...the muzzle break that he got is http://www.johnmasen.com/Merchant2/m...egory_Code=RMA and also he has the 580 series is there a way to install this if its legal in california..i also asked perfectunion.com but no replies yet....

thanks

jimx
09-06-2008, 8:26 PM
I can't get the link to work.

c good
09-06-2008, 8:38 PM
If it's a true muzzle brake then legally you have no worries. Personally, I don't see a need for a muzzle brake on a Mini-14. I've been shooting mine for 20 years now and it's such a mild recoil I wouldn't worry about it. It's just a matter of time before some under educated person thinks it's a "Flash Supressor" and then who knows what could happen. Better safe than sorry, is my motto when it comes to firearms. c good

gungrave
09-06-2008, 8:45 PM
Fixed

http://www.johnmasen.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=J&Product_Code=1403BB&Category_Code=RMA

bohoki
09-06-2008, 8:49 PM
chances are if it has slots parallel to the bore it is a flashhider if it has holes or cuts that are perpendicular to the bore then it is a brake

AngelDecoys
09-06-2008, 8:52 PM
Even if the item is listed on the website as a muzzle break for the mini 14, you might want to check to be sure.

A quick and easy way to tell between a muzzle break and a flash hidder will be the diameter of the opening (among other things). A muzzle break wil have a diameter just larger than the hole the .223 passes through. A flash hidder typically will have an opening larger.

Even if the break is legal, many LE will not know the difference between the two. And DOJ isn't much better.