View Full Version : Newb Question -- how to clean a 10/22?

09-01-2008, 1:51 AM
Hi all,

I'm a shiny new newb who is about to take custody of a Ruger 10/22, has a rifle cleaning kit for a 22 rifle, and not a clue about how to use it. I hope I've posted this in the right place, as I tried hard earlier to find the right section for this.

Unfortunately, the store that sold me the items (and it was a fairly reputable one in the area) was not very helpful or interested in telling me how to use it, other than verifying that in fact I had all of the required parts.

I've done about a billion Google and Youtube searches, and while I'm pretty familiar now with how to break down the rifle and access it's parts, install a buffer bolt, extended magazine, etc., I'm just not sure about the order of things to actually clean the darn thing or how to use the parts (the one thing the videos seem to omit. Even Wikipedia doesn't have anything, and it's starting to get pretty frustrating, as if it were some great secret or something very obvious I should know. I just really don't want to screw up anything or mess up my muzzle (I read that was important). :eek:

Parts on hand:

Gunslick 22lr all-inclusive cleaning kit, with:
cotton patches
ultra-lube gun oil
cleaning solution
some kind of brass brush that screws on
some kinds of soft brush that screws on
a pointy plastic screw-on thing
another plastic screw-on thing that apparently the swab gets on somehow (i saw a youtube video for someone's patented pull-through system that apparently demos how to get the swab on there)
a plastic thing that might be a muzzle guard? sort of like a tiny funnel
a metal rod with a handle
2 more metal rods that appear to screw on to the first one

So how does this work? Can anyone help explain the process, and from which end of the gun I should clean? (muzzle?) Yep, that's how clueless I am. :confused: