PDA

View Full Version : Bowie Knife in State Park?

Salty
08-22-2008, 6:40 PM
Going to be camping in a state park in a few weeks and I was wondering if I can openly carry a Bowie Knife (9" blade, 14" OAL). I've been camping in wilderness areas and such where it's a non issue before, but this is my first time in a state park. I read on the Calif State Parks website that no "weapons" are allowed, I'm not sure where the line is drawn between "weapons" and "tools" as far as knives go.

4313. Weapons and Traps.
No person shall carry, possess, or discharge across, in or into any portion of any unit any weapon, firearm, box and arrow, trap, net, or device capable of injuring, or killing any person or animal (shoestring, pen, brick phone?), or capturing any animal, or damaging any public or private property, except where the Department of Parks and Recreation finds that it is in its best interests. Nothing herein contained shall be construed in derogation of the use of weapons permitted by law or regulation and to be used for hunting in a unit, or portion thereof, open to hunting. Firearms not having a cartridge in any portion of the mechanism, traps, nets, bows and arrows, other unloaded weapons or devices may be possessed within temporary lodging or mechanical mode of conveyance when such implements are rendered temporarily inoperable or are packed, cased, or stored in a manner that will prevent their ready use.

Liberty1
08-22-2008, 6:48 PM
Going to be camping in a state park in a few weeks and I was wondering if I can openly carry a Bowie Knife (9" blade, 14" OAL). I've been camping in wilderness areas and such where it's a non issue before, but this is my first time in a state park. I read on the Calif State Parks website that no "weapons" are allowed, I'm not sure where the line is drawn between "weapons" and "tools" as far as knives go.

4313. Weapons and Traps.