PDA

View Full Version : CCW Reform in National Parks: Next Step in the Process?

Paladin
08-15-2008, 7:50 AM
August 8th, the end of the public comment period, has come and gone. Does anyone here know when to expect the Dept of the Interior to make a decision re. reforming the CCW policies of the National Parks, etc.?

bulgron
08-15-2008, 8:01 AM
I don't know about the Dept of Interior and all that, but what I'm wondering is why National Parks & Monuments are still off limits for open carry. These are federal lands, so Heller should apply even without incorporation.

If we wanted a good case to push "bear" outside of the home, suing the NPS over their ban on open carry in our parks is a great way to go, IMO. Of course, I am not a lawyer, so I'm probably all wet.

I suppose if the NPS reformed their CCW policy in the parks, then that would severely weaken the argument. Which is, IMO, another good reason for the NPS to reform their CCW policy.

Paladin
08-15-2008, 8:27 AM
I don't know about the Dept of Interior and all that, but what I'm wondering is why National Parks & Monuments are still off limits for open carry. These are federal lands, so Heller should apply even without incorporation.

If we wanted a good case to push "bear" outside of the home, suing the NPS over their ban on open carry in our parks is a great way to go, IMO. Of course, I am not a lawyer, so I'm probably all wet.

I suppose if the NPS reformed their CCW policy in the parks, then that would severely weaken the argument. Which is, IMO, another good reason for the NPS to reform their CCW policy.Hmmm, you got me to thinking. Post-Heller incorporation, I wonder how defensible is the DOI in situ stuff (e.g., a nat'l park's policy is the policy of the state in which it is located)?