PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun noob! < need lots of info

C_1
07-30-2008, 5:45 PM
Hmm.. where to start? Well, I'm new to shotguns. And I'm seriously considering one. The primary use of the shotgun will be for self/home defense, but I would like to be able to take it out hunting, every once in a great while.

BARRELS
I know a short 18 inch improved cylinder barrel will do well for home protection. But for hunting, a longer barrel is better, what do you use? How about chokes? So maybe a shotgun with the ability to convert/swap barrels?

STOCK and/or PISTOL GRIP
I want a stock with a pistol grip; it seems most verastile. So I was thinking either a Knoxx SpecOps pistol grip with adj. stock & recoil compensating system, or the SpeedFeed III tactical pistol grip magazine tube stock. Or an original manufacturer pistol grip stock will do.

GAUGE
I think 12 is best. You guys agree?

SEMI-AUTO or PUMP ACTION
A semi-auto "sounds" nice. But a pump sounds even better. An intruder will think twice once he hears the racking of a shottie. Your recommendation?

MAGAZINE CAPCITY
Whats the legal max capacity on a tube magazine shotgun? (Cali sucks!) Can I convert it to a box magazine fed shotgun? Is that legal? If so, how much and where can I get one? Will it go over the price of a Valtro USA PM5 or Siaga-12?

EXTRA SHOT SHELL HOLDER
If I get the SpeedFeed stock, then I dont think I have to worry too much about this, but a side saddle is probably a good idea. But Im worried about overtightening and it becoming loose and/or whatnot. Thoughts?

SO WHICH SHOTGUN?
I'm on a limited budget, so I was thinking/recommended, the Mossberg 500 or Remington 870. Which model? Pros and cons? What shotgun should I buy?

HELP..
Recommendations, insight, suggestions, thoughts, experience, etc etc..

sorensen440
07-30-2008, 5:56 PM