PDA

View Full Version : Handgun's action is stiff after using Froglube

delta9
11-02-2015, 3:50 PM
I took my Ruger p89 out of the safe today, haven't fired it in about a year. I last cleaned and lubed with Froglube and now the action is really stiff. No problems with my other guns that were also Froglubed.

Any ideas?

trackcage
11-02-2015, 3:52 PM
Yea, quit using froglube

Citadelgrad87
11-02-2015, 3:55 PM
Oh, look,,yet another thread about a particular product.

In before "you're using it wrong", "did you run it through your kids EZ bake oven first" and "but I like the smell"

Op, that was a preemptive strike. I've been using CLP for about forty years, am have never had any issues with it in any way.

I can go a step further, and state that excluding THIS product, I have never seen or heard about a problem such as this with any other type of lubricant. No person or online.

But there's a thread just like this about monthly here.

My .02

Merc1138
11-02-2015, 3:59 PM
Ditch the FL and use a normal lubricant. Problem solved.

And yes, prepare for the "You applied it wrong, didn't wipe enough off, didn't get the parts warm enough, only used 1 coat, applied too much, didn't apply enough, yadda yadda" crowd.

JDay
11-02-2015, 4:21 PM
Take a hair dryer or heat gun to it and clean that crap off.

meno377
11-02-2015, 4:22 PM
I took my Ruger p89 out of the safe today, haven't fired it in about a year. I last cleaned and lubed with Froglube and now the action is really stiff. No problems with my other guns that were also Froglubed.

Any ideas?

Haters will be haters. Being in storage for a year, you would wipe it down regardless what kind of lube you use. Wipe it down and shoot it. Let us know how that worked.

JDay
11-02-2015, 4:24 PM
Haters will be haters. Being in storage for a year, you would wipe it down regardless what kind of lube you use. Wipe it down and shoot it. Let us know how that worked.