PDA

View Full Version : Going to Utah with a shotty and pistol

jackslap
07-18-2008, 4:48 PM
I'm not a noob to firearms, but I'm not an expert in law. I was wondering if any of you folks could shed some light on anything I might need to know when crossing into the Arizona, Nevada, and then Utah borders.

I will of course not be loaded, nor will the firearms be in the cab of my car.
Anything else that I'm missing or am I good to go?

-hanko
07-18-2008, 5:27 PM
I'm not a noob to firearms, but I'm not an expert in law. I was wondering if any of you folks could shed some light on anything I might need to know when crossing into the Arizona, Nevada, and then Utah borders.

Drive safely and have a nice trip:D

Be aware that calling you shotgun a "shotty" in AZ, NV, or UT (not to mention ID, but that's not on the itinerary) may expose you the possibility of an *** wuppin';)

-hanko

jackslap
07-18-2008, 5:31 PM
Lol, I caught flak for the "shotty" remark on another forum as well. What gives? I thought it was just a common nickname for a scattergun (see what I did there, I used another nickname instead of the real one).

Fjold
07-18-2008, 6:01 PM
AZ, NV and Utah are a lot looser than CA for gunlaws but federal law says that if you have unloaded guns in your trunk, you're fine. (With the exceptions of Nat. Parks where guns have to be disassembled, military bases, etc.)

"Shotty" is usually associated with the slang of the thug culture.

Pvt. Cowboy
07-18-2008, 6:23 PM