PDA

View Full Version : First Rifle Build (AK-74) Questions and Advice

marmalade
09-14-2015, 9:42 AM
Hey I'm new to calguns, and I joined because I'm getting ready to start my first build (and first gun). I've done a pretty good amount of research and I know how to do most of the build so far, and I know what restrictions I have to build to spec, but I still have a few questions. My first question would be is, are there any good resources or guides for AK-74 builds? I can get a competed reciever but I'd really like to do a build from a 80% lower out of pride, and I was wondering how difficult it might be. I know people who have spot welders and drills, which seem to be the main tools required. Other than the rivet gun. Is there any guide that shows exactly what I tools I will need and work that needs to be done? Also, are there ways that I could rent a toolshop for a few hours or maybe even just the tools themselves, or alternatively can I have a gunsmith finish the parts I can't do myself.

Sorry if my post is kinda disjointed and rambling, I only got about an hour and a half of sleep last night so I'm pretty dead right now lol.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

marmalade
09-14-2015, 9:47 AM
Oh I also forgot to ask if it was possible to use the 74 lower to build out an AK-101, and if it's even worth the effort. I thought it might be a good idea because it uses the popular AR NATO round but I don't know if that's really that big of a deal. I'm mostly concerned about ammo availability and price.

I also read that .223 is compatible with the NATO round and that it's a decent hunting round. (My ideal plan is to build my AK from scratch and eventually hunt something with it - something I feel like I should experience at least once: hunting my own food, and truly experiencing and understanding the struggle.)

SoberClurichaun
09-14-2015, 9:57 AM