PDA

View Full Version : Casing Deflector on CMMG Upper

Eric_Oh
07-16-2008, 12:19 AM
With the numerous threads i've been seeing here lately, it reminded me of a question i wanted to ask those of you with CMMG Uppers.

I'm not sure who makes the upper receivers for CMMG, but i noticed that on mine the deflector has a kind of lip on the front. Let me clarify... it seems that the deflector first extends laterally away from the receiver at a 90deg angle for a couple mm before it angles back.

This seems to cause brass to catch on that leading edge of the deflector and has worn down the finish of the deflector in the front.

Has anyone else noticed this?

ironcross
07-16-2008, 12:29 AM
Well as the saying goes

:useless:

DDRH
07-16-2008, 7:11 AM
Yea dude, pix would be nice. i'm still a newbie...the more pix the better...that way i can also learn the terms used... :gene:

DB2
07-16-2008, 8:21 AM
How old is the upper? It seems in the last few months, some vendors were assembling there own uppers out of CMMG parts to meet demands, since CMMG could not. My Cmmg upper has keyhole mark on it. Does yours? I'm pretty sure mine is factory assembled since I got it right before the backup. The person I bought it from, started putting his together right after that. I don't see a problem with a vendor doing that, but you might have another brand of upper receiver. The keyhole mark seems to be very common though through other manufacturers.

Pics would be nice.

The_Fonz
07-16-2008, 8:57 AM
heres a pic of my CMMG upper. The leading edge of the deflector is worn (circled), is that what you mean? I always thought that was normal. The deflector surface also has brass marks but you can barely see them in the pic. Its about two years old and works 100%.

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j186/The_Fonz_01/boomsticks/P1010123-1.jpg

Guntech
07-16-2008, 9:00 AM
its normal everyones deflector gets wear on it

gcvt
07-16-2008, 9:05 AM