PDA

View Full Version : First Semi rifle for lefty

hollowpoint331
07-15-2008, 10:38 PM
Hello this is my first time posting on this site so want to say hello my name is Tony from San Diego, also I am so glad to find a place to talk about guns were there are people who I can relate to on important information about guns in California.
So with out wasting anymore of your time...
I am in the market for a semi-auto rifle . I am left handed so I really want a true left handed rifle, I believe if I am going to fork over $1000 of hard earned cash I should have one that is fit for me. 2 of my friends (right handed) just purchased sig 556 swat and I really like the look. Unfortunately they don't make it in left handed. I heard some lefties have one with no problems but I don't want to take a chance. So my question is if I want a rifle that looks almost exactly like it but for lefty what should I get? I am willing to spend up to $1500 with gadgets (flash light, optics etc..). Quality, performance, reliability is important. I will be shooting brass reloads (picked up from gun show) I don't want to build it either. AK or AR platform I could go for both.
Any help would be great and sorry for the long post
Thank you in advanced

TurboFall
07-15-2008, 10:41 PM
Stag makes left-handed rifles AR-15's IIRC. Check them out.

Saigon1965
07-15-2008, 10:43 PM
Welcome.

AR uppers are available in both, just slap an ambi safety and you're gtg.

USN CHIEF
07-15-2008, 10:48 PM
Check with one of the vendors here on Cal Guns. Fort Courage Armory.

zcktomcat
07-15-2008, 11:55 PM
if you really want to go crazy i think armalite makes a lower with both ambi bolt and mag releases.

krby
07-16-2008, 7:01 AM
Welcome fellow lefty!

Think about why you really want/need a semi-auto left handed gun. The usual reasons:

1) The cases ejecting across your field of vision (also, if there's a problem in theory your face is protected more by being on the other side of the gun from the ejecction port