PDA

View Full Version : Bi-pods in 16" barrels


jeffyboy
07-15-2008, 10:57 AM
I have not seen anything posted on this so I thought I would ask. Does anyone use a bi-pod with there 16" middies? I know on the 20"+ barrels its pretty common but I have not really seen any on a 16" barrel. I know that when I am at the range I either use sandbags or some other type of support to help stabilize the weapon. I started thinking a bi-pod would be just as good.

USN CHIEF
07-15-2008, 10:59 AM
What type of gun? Can you provide an example?

jeffyboy
07-15-2008, 11:08 AM
Sorry, at work right now and don't have a picture of the weapon. It's a del-ton 16" middie with DD Omega rails and a DS lower...with a ACOG TA01 on a Larue mount. Hope that helps

USN CHIEF
07-15-2008, 11:11 AM
I use one on mine. Most of the people that I know use them too.

jeffyboy
07-15-2008, 11:16 AM
Thanks Chief!

Do you see any possible issues running one with a Omega rail? I was looking at the Harris but I was a little concerned that the rail might not take it.

USN CHIEF
07-15-2008, 11:37 AM
There are many companies that make the rail adapter for the harris bipod like this one...

http://www.gstpublicsafety.com/itemdesc.asp?ic=879015000417&Cc=STOCKS&sel_opt=Cat&eq=&Tp=

aplinker
07-15-2008, 12:28 PM
No issues, no problems. It's not real common because a 16" is usually used off-hand rather than from a bench.

Many companies make adapters for attaching the bipod. It's just a sling swivel, as Chief showed you.

The DD Omega is a solid rail and will have no issues.

jeffyboy
07-15-2008, 4:25 PM
Cool, thanks guys

DedEye
07-15-2008, 6:17 PM
Yeah, I have a Harris bipod in a Larue QD mount that gets attached to my 16" upper and my .22 upper.

scfast
07-15-2008, 7:00 PM
I use a harris on my 16" larue...

xcrunner805
07-15-2008, 7:32 PM
Larue bipod mounts are probably the best choice, check AR15.com for less priced used ones, maybe even get the harris with the adapter for a deal, I've seen them on there before.