PDA

View Full Version : My 1st AR from Irvington Arms

Dmitri76
07-14-2008, 12:58 PM
I have gotten into shooting / collecting guns after the CA AWB so i thought i'd never be able to own an AR type rifle unless i moved out of state .. Well after reading this forum for a while, i finally decided to bite the bullet ( A .223 of course :D) and DROSed one at Irvington Arms yesterday ! It's built on a CMMG lower w/ bullet button, a fixed stock and 20'' upper w/ carry handle. I'm really new to ARs so can't even say what upper is is, until the 7/22 at least - the waiting period s@cks :mad:
The people at Irvington Arms were really great, answering all my newbie questions and they had one in stock in just the configuration i wanted !

Having never dealt with AR's i didn't feel like building my 1st one myself starting with just the lower, but now i think i should have put an extra lower or 2 on the same dros :rolleyes: .. How dificult is it to assemble one starting with just the lower and parts kit, than adding stock and an upper ? I guess putting the trigger and all the small parts into the lower is the scariest part - putting on the stock and complete upper should be easier ?
Also what are the differences between the OLL's that we can buy, like CMMG, Stag etc ? Are some better than others or is it just the preference thing ? Since they are not that expensive compared to a built rifle, i'm thinking of putting 1 or 2 on the bottom of the safe, perhaps to built up sometime later as collapsible stock / 16'' barrel (M4 style ) rifle...

07-14-2008, 1:02 PM
Give Irvington Arms a call, they might be willing to add on some lowers to your DROS. Putting together a lower is really easy. Here is a website that will explain it all. http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=4&t=226782
Enjoy your new rifle and welcome to the forum.

scubamark13
07-14-2008, 1:06 PM
You can also watch this video on the assembly of the lower
http://www.lifelibertyetc.com/RangeBag.aspx