PDA

View Full Version : new to calguns and the AR 15 community.

Gr1m310
07-11-2008, 9:51 PM
I wanted to know how and what i need to do in building my own AR 15. I want to stay within california laws.. I have no idea as far as parts and what not. is there a source where they show you how to put one together? Just need to know what parts to buy. im a total noob at this. :confused:

gunsmith
07-11-2008, 9:56 PM
you could probably buy one here, then learn to build your next one.

69Mach1
07-11-2008, 10:01 PM
Welcome to the forum.
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=56818
Everything you need to know.

Hopi
07-11-2008, 10:02 PM
Welcome to the Forum!

Check the picture threads in the Rifles Gallery. Then read the AW flowchart. Get to know the laws very well. Have fun!

Josh3239
07-11-2008, 10:03 PM
I would strongly suggest you learn and memorize the laws before you build anything. There are 2 great reasons to do it this way 1) you won't build an illegal rifle 2) You'll be able to properly defend yourself if accused of possessing/manufactering an illegal rifle if it is in fact legal.

Also, if your a "noob" you should buy a complete upper, I wouldn't suggest putting one together yourself. You can also buy a complete lower or build one, their is a guide on AR15.com

Gr1m310
07-11-2008, 10:04 PM
cool. thank you guys for replying to this thread. I will look into the parts and stuff... but the problem is, since this will be the first time ever dealing with this particular rifle i have no clue about the parts and what to get. never put one together ya know. so is it best that i buy one first then get to know the parts then put my next one together? whats your opinion?

gunsmith
07-11-2008, 10:10 PM
it would be more fun to build your own, but easier to just buy your 1st.
in my opinion.

Gr1m310
07-11-2008, 10:18 PM