PDA

View Full Version : here something i found while browsen

fullrearview
07-11-2008, 6:02 PM
http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/814829/posts

fullrearview
07-12-2008, 12:05 AM
Im new to law and its process but couldnt something like this be overturned after the heller decision? The CA sup. court ruled it was a collective right and that clearly is not the case anymore!

Ford8N
07-12-2008, 5:00 AM
So now that we have the SC ruling that the Second IS an individual right, I suspect that some folks here are going to make the Ninth eat their own words.:43:

The recent decision by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals concerning California's assault weapons ban will undoubtedly fuel the debate concerning the Second Amendment. The appellants in this case asserted: "the California Assault Weapons Control Act and its 1999 revisions violated their Second Amendment rights." In their opinion, the Court rejected this assertion "ecause the Second Amendment [b]does not confer an individual right to own or possess arms." Instead, the Court ruled: "the Second Amendment affords only a collective right to own or possess guns or other firearms." Since it is impossible to analyze these statements in a single article, this commentary will focus on another constitutional provision that invalidates every general assault weapons ban.

I strongly suggest that you donate the Calguns Foundation. Anything you could send would help the process along.;)

bwiese
07-12-2008, 11:49 AM
This was result of a buncha hooey associated with Gary Gorksi who nearly got us into a total disaster with Silviera. (It cost NRA a ton of $$/lawyer time just to get a moderately neutral result, and should not've been remotely attempted until *after* something like Heller.)

However, Reinhardt of the 9th has begrudgingly acknowledged (rough phrasing) that if the 2nd amendment is found to be an individual right, it would apply to California.