PDA

View Full Version : Lending a Handgun to a friend?

BlackReef
07-06-2008, 7:32 PM
Just curious about what the law says about loaning a Handgun to a friend for a few days. I searched on this and the only thing I found was that it has to be less than 30 days, and both over 21 years of age (which we are) but I don't know if the rules apply to all Firearms or just long guns, etc.

Please help, thanks

spsellars
07-06-2008, 7:35 PM
HSC is required for handgun loans too.

Greg-Dawg
07-06-2008, 7:53 PM
It's fine with me (DISCLAIMER: I'm not a lawyer), but I hope your friend doesn't have a criminal record....does he?

Julians4x4
07-06-2008, 7:57 PM
It's fine with me (DISCLAIMER: I'm not a lawyer), but I hope your friend doesn't have a criminal record....does he?

+1:eek:

BlackReef
07-06-2008, 8:16 PM
He's got a clean record. He wanted to borrow my Glock 35 for a few days. He has a HSC (he got it the same time I got mine)

Thanks for the help

bwiese
07-06-2008, 9:11 PM
A section of 12078PC deals with 'infrequent loans' of firerarms.

Requirements:
- the recipient is nonprohibited;
- the loan is for a lawful purpose;
- the length of loan is for under 30 days (perhaps 30 days or less, not sure);
- the loan is 'infrequent' (so this loan should not happen every other month);
- if the gun is a handgun, the borrower needs to have a valid HSC card;.

Note that if the lent firearm were illegally transported such that it resulted in a CCW violation/charge, the gun would not be DROSed to the borrower and would likely result in an initial felony charge.

leitung
07-07-2008, 2:52 PM
Note,
As long as the loan is less than 30days, he is not prohibited from possessing a gun, and he has a HSC or valid exemption (I.E PC.832).

Note you can also loan someone 18 and older a handgun.. My dad loans me his handguns all the time.. I am 19 with a valid HSC exemption..

Moonclip
07-07-2008, 3:50 PM