PDA

View Full Version : SF guys transitioning to 40SW and the Glock 22?

FlyingPen
07-06-2008, 12:12 PM
I've heard and read rumors that the HSLDOMGBBQACRONYM black helicopter guys are starting to transition to the Glock 22 and 40SW. Has anyone heard about this?

After owning a Sig in 40SW, I've found the caliber to be kind of stupid in the civilian world since quality hollow points in both 40SW and 9mm expand to the same diameter and have the same penetration. I guess it might make more sense in the military world because they can't use hollow points but the lower speed/accuracy of follow up shots and reduced capacity doesn't seem smart.

bobfried
07-06-2008, 12:55 PM
Wait I'm confused, you think they are "transitioning" from a 9mm to a 40?

You probably have not dealt with or kept up with HSLD people flying around on black helicopters. They haven't used anything other than .45's in well over a decade now.

FlyingPen
07-06-2008, 12:57 PM
I have no direct experience for sure. This is only from using a San Diego armorer who also sells a lot of Sigs to Navy guys who train on Coronado Island. And from the HKPRO board and from another well respected Calgunner who doesn't seem to bull**** about stuff. Just curious.

I'm sure the black helo guys can use whatever they want but it seems in training courses and standard stocked issue, the Glock 22 and 40SW is rumored to be in wide use.

bobfried
07-06-2008, 1:09 PM
The widest use small-arms that I know of by the "special people" are almost entirely composed of 1911's. I have seen a sprinkling of MK23's, other HK's, a few Sig 220's and even a few CZ's. I've yet to see any striker-fired weapons in the hands of those guys (and that includes all branches) let alone a Glock.