PDA

View Full Version : Proof of Residency

jimmerjammermrk
07-04-2008, 2:26 AM
I've done some searching and have come to the following conclusion, please let me know if I'm right.

I'm a college student and have lived in dorms in the past. I'm now moving into an apartment and I'd like to buy a handgun. I have a CA driver's license. I'll also soon have a rental agreement/cable bill with my name on it. My issue is that my DL address won't match the proof of residency. From what I've read, this shouldn't matter as long as I put my new address on the form at the gun shop so it will match the rental agreement/cable bill. Am I right about this?

Also, I seem to remember that when buying a long gun, only a driver's license is required. Is this true?

Thanks.

kalibear
07-04-2008, 2:48 AM
You need to file a change of address with DMV and they give you that little brown card with your new address and make sure they stamp it

The SoCal Gunner
07-04-2008, 4:51 AM
Your address on the DL does not need to match the proof of residency but some dealers may give you trouble over this. I I've experienced three different situations in this regard.

1) dealer knows the rules and doesn't give you trouble

2) you write your new address on the back of the DL (I write it on tape and tape it to my DL) and the dealer accepts that

3) a dealer gives you trouble with this and you go to the DMV to get the brown card to write your new address one

Yes you only need a DL for long guns. Big 5 makes up their on rules and requires proof of residency as well.

Coda
07-04-2008, 11:27 AM