PDA

View Full Version : Kimber Rimfire Target (1911) problem

Angie
06-29-2008, 3:25 PM
Hello, I'm a newbie here, love the site.

Anyway, I got a Kimber .22 1911-style pistol last July. When I first fired it, I had some FTE/FTF issues. At first I thought it was a "new gun" quirk and had to be broken in, but I've fed a few hundred rounds through it and it's still not working...

I also thought it might be a magazine issue, but the magazines I got are all from Kimber, and I still have some issues even with the original magazine.

Has anyone had this problem? Or solutions/advice?

Olav
06-29-2008, 3:48 PM
Welcome!

I have one and it works great for me once I found the right ammo.

What ammo are you using?

Kruzr
06-29-2008, 3:54 PM
Go out and buy some Stingers and see if it runs with those. You can then work your way through high velocity ammo to see which one cycles the gun. You also have to make sure the gun is very well lubricated in the rails and tracks.

Angie
06-29-2008, 5:12 PM
Welcome!

I have one and it works great for me once I found the right ammo.

What ammo are you using?

I have used mostly Federal and Remington, bulk box ammo.

Olav
06-29-2008, 5:38 PM
I'm using Federal in my Kimber and it's been running smoothly with that.

I found lubrication to be very important with this pistol.

From the manual:

Lubricate the following internal parts of the
pistol:
a. Slide and Frame rails - Oil. Do not over oil!
b. Disconnector on top of frame - Small drop.
c. Barrel Hood - two drops, spread on hood.
d. Slide Stop pin - one drop, spread with
finger.
e. Outside of Barrel - Oil. Do not over oil,
spread with fingertip.

h. Cock Hammer - one drop in between the
hammer and frame.
i. Assemble gun. Rack the Slide 5-6 times,
dry fire, wipe off excess oil from gun.

I usually follow these steps and have gotten good results.