PDA

View Full Version : Proof of residency?

ineedaname
06-26-2008, 1:53 PM
I am a 22 year old student in California, and want to get into shooting. I have had some shooting experience before, and am considering purchasing my first gun.

However, I live with my parents right now and everything I need is in walking distance from where I live, even the nearest gun shop. Suffice to say, I don't have any utility bills, deeds, leases, or car registrations.

Are there any other documents I can use to fulfill this requirement?

Thanks

Glock_XXI
06-26-2008, 1:55 PM
Try having you parents draw a "Rental Agreement" that has your address on it.

Also I have heard, at Big 5 of all places, that you could use your AAA card if you have one.

rtlltj
06-26-2008, 2:11 PM
Maybe your parents can change the name on one of their utility bills to your name for a month or two.

ineedaname
06-26-2008, 2:11 PM
Thanks for the suggestion. Does anyone know if one may use a voter registration card, credit card bill, or bank statement?

pwall
06-26-2008, 2:17 PM
I was in your same boat when I bought my first couple handguns. No car, and no utility bills cause I was living in my parents house. To solve the problem, I had to get a notarized letter from my parents stating that I was a resident of their household, and then bring THEIR utility bills to the FFL. TALK ABOUT GOING OUT OF YOUR WAY!!!

Rover
06-26-2008, 2:30 PM
I'm in a similar position, My legal esidence is my Parent's house, but I live up here in Ventura, I pay all the bills up here so they all have my name on them, but the adress doesn't match my driver's liscense, just use my credit card bill, never have any issues as long as it's recent to within 3 months.

IllTemperedCur
06-26-2008, 2:32 PM
Cellphone bill worked for me back in April.

munkeeboi
06-26-2008, 3:38 PM