PDA

View Full Version : Got a harris bipod, how do I mount it?


Booshanky
05-30-2008, 9:13 AM
Ok, I just picked up a harris bipod for this rifle,

http://lh5.ggpht.com/matich/SCOWX2qCNxI/AAAAAAAAUAI/eaOkWgv6X7w/s800/IMG_4631.JPG

But as you can see, that stock doesn't have a QD stud. How do I go about putting one on it?

69Mach1
05-30-2008, 9:23 AM
Is that a wood stock? You will need to install a stud.
http://www.uncle-mikes.com/products/boltaction_woodscrews.html
http://www.uncle-mikes.com/images/wood_screw_type.jpg

Booshanky
05-30-2008, 10:50 AM
No, it's some sort of plastic material. Know where they sell something like that? The uncle mikes store doesnt' work.

robbor
05-30-2008, 11:06 AM
Ya you need studs. My last time out I took an old 22 with no studs and put 3 heavy rubber bands from asparagus around the barrel and clipped them to the bipod, there is an ear on each side by the leg mount. It looked like crap but worked, I need to order a few extra sets of swivels also.

Ballistic043
05-30-2008, 11:50 AM
look up the manual for your stock and see if there is an area you can mount a swivel stud. once installed you can attach the harris with ease.

RobG
05-30-2008, 12:17 PM
Any decent gun store, or even Walmart, sells what you need. The wood type should work fine as long as the stock is sufficiently thick in the area to recieve the stud. CAREFULLY center the hole or your bipod will be out of whack.

I will also check my produce drawer JIC. :D