PDA

View Full Version : C&R pistol

jfdodge
01-21-2015, 5:16 PM
I'm new to the c&r obsession, but going to dive into it. What constitutes a c&r pistol? I
From what I've been able to find, rifles and shotguns it's older than 50 years. I've been looking at some ww2 era remington rand 1911's and wonder if those would fall into the c&r category. Thank in advance for the help.

emcon5
01-21-2015, 5:47 PM
50+ years or on the ATF list.

More info here: https://www.atf.gov/firearms/faq/curios-relics.html

They are except from the safe handgun roster, but not from the other asinine CA requirements regarding handguns.

81turbota
01-21-2015, 5:49 PM
What Emcon5 said. You can cash and carry a C&R pistol from a dealer, but a PPT has to go through an FFL.

emcon5
01-21-2015, 6:04 PM
You can cash and carry a C&R pistol from a dealer

Not without an 03 FFL and a COE, I don't think.

jfdodge
01-21-2015, 6:06 PM
So if I purchased one off gunbroker, with no c&r ffl, it would have to be shipped to an ffl locally and drosed to me.

emcon5
01-21-2015, 6:09 PM
So if I purchased one off gunbroker, with no c&r ffl, it would have to be shipped to an ffl locally and drosed to me.

Yes, just like any other handgun. The only advantage for someone without a 03 FFL is that it is exempt from the roster.

jfdodge
01-21-2015, 6:21 PM
Awesome, thanks for the info. Now I have one more gun related area to spend money on!

81turbota
01-21-2015, 7:38 PM
Not without an 03 FFL and a COE, I don't think.

Sorry, yes I forgot that very important detail. The dealers have a special dros for C&R, which lets them input the COE number and deliver the gun the same day.

jfdodge
01-21-2015, 8:15 PM
I have to have the 03ffl or the dealer? And is there a way to tell who is an 03 ffl dealer?

HibikiR
01-21-2015, 8:46 PM
03 FFL applies to the buyer, you, not the dealer.