PDA

View Full Version : Help deciding on caliber

Flat head guy
05-25-2008, 10:28 AM
I'm just starting out but would like some advice on which caliber to use. I'd like to start shooting 200-600 yards across the course, but would like to look into shooting 1000 yards once my skills get better. Any help would be appreciated!:gunsmilie:

jandmtv
05-25-2008, 11:44 AM

StraightShooter
05-25-2008, 5:09 PM
.243 winchester is superior to .308 for 1000 yard shooting. You will need to reload for .243 because factory match ammo isnt available like it is for .308. If you dont plan to reload then .308 it the only logical choice.

Flat head guy
05-25-2008, 6:03 PM
Thanks for the advice, has anyone had any luck with a .260? I've heard that they work pretty well. I have a Ruger action that I could get re-barreled would that work OK? I'm trying to do this on a budget.

StraightShooter
05-25-2008, 6:08 PM
Thanks for the advice, has anyone had any luck with a .260? I've heard that they work pretty well. I have a Ruger action that I could get re-barreled would that work OK? I'm trying to do this on a budget.

.260 is also a good round. Ruger actions are not recommend for precision builds. It is best to do it on a remington 700 action. Usually you can buy a used remington 700 for pretty cheap and If you want to change or upgrde the stock you can sell off the old stuff and recoup some of your money.

I wanted to add, .308 is the best caliber if you want long barrel life. You can get up to 9000 rounds of good accuracy out of a barrel if it is well taken care of. The .243 is going to get good accuracy anywhere from 2000 to 5000 rounds depending on how hot you load the rounds. For reloading, .243 components tend to be a little cheaper so i think it can go either way

PatriotnMore
05-25-2008, 6:17 PM
.300, .416
shoot what you can hit with the most accuracy. Accuracy and placement is more important than caliber. Although to 1000 meters, caliber is important when wind comes into play.